Postponed thrice due to COVID-19, the 40th Hong Kong Film Awards presentation ceremony took place at The Star Hall at Kowloon bay International Trade & Exhibition Centre (KITEC) on 17 July 2022. The night's two biggest awards go to Raging Fire for Best Film and Best Director. Actor Andy Lau helps pay tribute to the late director and reads an acceptance speech prepared by Chan’s wife. 

Best Film: Raging Fire

Best Director: Benny Chan (Raging Fire)

Best Screenplay: Au Kin-yee, Shum Kwan Sin (Limbo)

Best Actor: Patrick Tse (Time)

Best Actress: Cya Liu (Limbo)

Best Supporting Actor: Fung Ho Yeung (Zero to Hero)

Best Supporting Actress: Fish Liew (Anita)  

Best New Performer: Louise Wong (Anita)

Best Cinematography: Cheng Siu-Keung (Limbo)

Best Film Editing: Curran Pang (Raging Fire)

Best Art Direction: Kenneth Mak, Renee Wong (Limbo)

Best Costume and Makeup Design: Wu Lilu, Ye Jiayin, Dora Ng, Karen Yip (Anita)

Best Action Choreography: Donnie Yen, Ku Huen Chiu, Tanigaki Kenji, Nicky Li (Raging Fire)

Best Original Film Score: Ryuichi Sakamoto (Love After Love)

Best Original Film Song: Origin of Time (One Second Champion)

Best Sound Design: Tu Duu-Chih, Wu Shu Yao (Anita)

Best Visual Effects: Yee Kwok Leung, Garrett K Lam, Raymond Leung Wai Man, Hung Man Shi Candy (Anita)

Best New Director: Chan Kin Long (Hand Rolled Cigarette)

Best Film From Mainland and Taiwan: American Girl