THE NICE GUYS - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (2016)

Unless you belonged to the baby boomer generation, I bet you won’t be too familiar with the track list.

Iron Man 3 helmer Shane Black’s latest directing gig, The Nice Guys is an action comedy set against the gritty backdrop of 1977, Los Angeles so it’s not a surprise the soundtrack consists of 15 cool, funky songs from that era. 

According to Black’s liner notes, it’s producer Joel Silver who awakened his interest in 70s music and most importantly, Earth, Wind & Fire which explains why the legendary African-American band has two grooving hit songs September and Boogie Wonderland on the album. The rhythmic soul song, Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone by The Temptations starts the ball rolling followed by the international hit, Get Down On It by Kool & The Gang.

The Reverend Al Green contributed Love And Happiness and Rupert Holmes’ Escape (The pina colada song) is always welcome. English pop group Bee Gees should be the most recognizable name on the CD and their 1975 hit, Jive Talkin’ is on track 9. The only rock and roll track goes to the blood-spitting American rock hard band KISS with their Rock and Roll All Nite.

Perhaps The Nice Guys soundtrack works better in the context of the movie or after you have watched Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe worked their magic onscreen. This way, you find yourself more at ease swinging to the groovy 70’s in the comfort of your home. Nostalgic isn’t it?

For vinyl collectors, there’s a collector edition which features pinup posters, 3D centerfold and other cool collectibles. You can check out the sweet deal here


Recommended Track: 
(9) Jive Talkin'

Review by Linus Tee


Papa Was a Rollin' Stone - The Temptations
Get Down on It - Kool and The Gang
Boogie Oogie Oogie - A Taste Of Honey
September - Earth Wind & Fire
Couldn't Get It Right - Climax Blues Band
Love and Happiness - Al Green
Dazz - Brick
Boogie Wonderland - Earth Wind & Fire
Jive Talkin' - Bee Gees
Rock and Roll All Nite - Kiss
Ain't Got No Home - The Band
12 Escape (The Pina Colada Song) - Rupert Holmes
13 Lonely Boy - Andrew Gold
14 A Horse with No Name - America
15 Green Peppers - Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass



Artists: Various
Label: Lakeshore Records
Release Date: May 13, 2016