SUCKER PUNCH - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (2010)

Just like the Zack Snyder film, this is one soundtrack which you will either love or hate. It contains reworked versions of classic songs, and the music will blow listeners away with its sheer stylishness. The nine tracks will stick in your mind and refuse to go away. It’s like a drug – one spin of the CD in your player, and the tunes will ring in your head. We will even go as far as to say that this soundtrack is not for the faint hearted.

 What about us? We love it so much, we feel like revisiting the musical journey the moment it ends.

The film’s star Emily Brown kickstarts the 49 minute album with “Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)”, and like how her Babydoll character is launched into a fantasy world whenever she begins dancing to a spellbinding tune, we are also initiated into this mesmerizing experience as the five minute track conquers the airwaves. The highlight of the disc is the seven minute “Army of Me (Sucker Punch Remix)” performed by Bjork featuring Skunk Anansie. This cue is like a motion picture event by itself – complete with a climatic orchestral showdown to heighten your senses. For those who are familiar with the Icelandic singer’s style, this doesn’t come as a surprise. For the uninitiated, get ready to be astounded.

Elsewhere, there are other fascinating tracks like “I Want It All/ We Will Rock You Mash-Up” by Queen with Armageddon aka Geddy, and “Tomorrow Never Knows” by Alison Mosshart and Carla Azar. These are songs which you have to blast at full volume to be fully immersed in the experience.  

Browning returns in “Where Is My Mind?” and “Asleep”, while co stars Carla Gugino and Oscar Isaac perform the musical theatre inspired “Love Is The Drug”, which concludes the album on a high note.

Even if you are not a fan of the boisterous music on this soundtrack, you would go gaga over the nicely printed insert showcasing the baby-licious poster art of the five female leads from Synder’s visionary movie. 


Recommended Track: (2) Army of Me - Bjork featuring Skunk Anansie

Review by John Li

Posted on 6 April 2011


Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) - Emily Browning
Army Of Me - Bjork
White Rabbit - Emiliana Torrini
I Want It All / We Will Rock You Mash-Up - Queen
Search And Destroy - Skunk Anansie
Tomorrow Never Knows - Carla Azar
Where Is My Mind? - Yoav
Asleep - Emily Browning
Love Is The Drug - Carla Gugino



Artistes: Various
Label: Sony Music
Release Date: March 22, 2011